School Ethics Commission Special Meeting Public Session Minutes

July 17, 2024

Chairperson Bender called the special meeting of the School Ethics Commission (Commission or SEC) to order at 9:31 a.m.

Notice of the special meeting was provided to the State House Press Corps and the Secretary of State and filed as required by the Open Public Meetings Act.

I.

		1	
oll	Robert	Michael	Mark

Roll Call¹

Roll Call	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Carol E. Sabo	Richard Tomko	Total
Present	Х			Х	Х	Х	4
Absent		Х	Х				0

Also, in attendance were Brigid C. Martens, Director, Office of School Ethics, Jeannine Pizzigoni, staff member, and Amna Toor, Deputy Attorney General (DAG).

II. First Public Comment

There were not any members of the public present.

III. Executive Session

At 9:33 a.m., the following Resolution was read:

Whereas, the Open Public Meetings Act (*N.J.S.A.* 10:4-6 *et seq.*) authorizes the Commission, a public body, to meet in Executive Session under certain circumstances; and

Whereas, the Open Public Meetings Act requires that the Commission adopt a Resolution at a public meeting to go into Executive Session; and

Now therefore be it resolved that, consistent with the provisions of *N.J.A.C.* 10:4-12(b), the Commission will adjourn to Executive Session to discuss matters which, by statute, are regarded as confidential and also to discuss matters possibly involving litigation: Consider the request for Interlocutory Review in connection with C32-23; and

Now therefore be it further resolved that the Commission will return to open session to conduct business at the conclusion of Executive Session.

¹ All Commissioners, Director Martens, Jeannine Pizzigoni and DAG Toor participated via Teams.

Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carol E. Sabo, to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss the matters set forth in the foregoing Resolution.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Carol E. Sabo	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	Х			X	Х	Х	4
No							0
Abstention							0

IV. Return to Public

At **9:47 a.m.**, a motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carol E. Sabo, to return to public session for the purpose of receiving public comment/testimony, and to vote on matters discussed in Executive Session (as appropriate).

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Carol E. Sabo	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	Х			Х	Х	Х	4
No							0
Abstention							0

Vote

V. Other Business

Consider the request for Interlocutory Review in connection with C32-23. Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carol E. Sabo, to deny the request.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Carol E. Sabo	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	Х			Х	Х	Х	4
No							0
Abstention							0

VI. Second Public Comment

There were not any members of the public present.

VII. Adjournment

At 9:49 a.m., a motion was made by Carol E. Sabo, and seconded by Richard Tomko, to adjourn.

Vote	Robert Bender	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Carol E. Sabo	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X		Х	Х	Х	4
No						0
Abstention						0

Vote

Submitted by:

Jeannine Pizzigoni

Approved by:

Brigid C. Martens, Director School Ethics Commission